Who are the FIFA World Cup Golden Glove Award Winners?

Who are the FIFA World Cup Golden Glove Award Winners? Emiliano Martinez Wins World Cup Golden Glove Award At Qatar 2022

Many awards are given to players and teams who excelled during each FIFA World Cup, with the Golden Glove Award being one of the most prestigious and given to the tournament’s best goalkeepers. It was first presented in 1994 under the name Lev Yashin Award. The Golden Glove was renamed in 2010. FIFA named the best goalkeeper of the competition based on their performance throughout the competition. Let’s take a look at the all Golden Glove award winners from the FIFA World Cup since 1930:

List of all Golden Glove winners in The FIFA World Cup

Year FIFA World Cup Golden Glove Winner Country
2022 Emiliano Martinez Argentina
2018 Thibaut Courtois Belgium
2014 Manuel Neuer Germany
2010 Iker Casillas Spain
2006 Gianluigi Buffon Italy
2002 Oliver Kahn Germany
1998 Fabien Barthez France
1994 Michel Preud’homme Belgium
1990 Luis Gabelo Conejo
Sergio Goycochea
Costa Rica
1986 Jean-Marie Pfaff Belgium
1982 Dino Zoff Italy
1978 Ubaldo Fillol Argentina
1974 Sepp Maier West Germany
1970 Ladislao Mazurkiewicz Uruguay
1966 Gordon Banks England
1962 Viliam Schrojf Czechoslovakia
1958 Harry Gregg Northern Ireland
1954 Gyula Grosics Hungary
1950 Roque Maspoli Uruguay
1938 Frantisek Planicka Czechoslovakia
1934 Ricardo Zamora Spain
1930 Enrique Ballestrero Uruguay

1. Emiliano Martinez Wins World Cup Golden Glove Award At Qatar 2022.

Argentina Goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez wins the 2022 FIFA World Cup Golden Glove award for his performance in the penalty shootout. Following his second successful stop in a penalty shoot-out in Qatar. Argentina defeated France 4-2 in a penalty shootout following a 3-3 tie in the finals. Argentina won their third world cup title in Qatar due to Martinez’s penalty-stopping efforts in the shootout.

2. Thibaut Courtois, 2018 Golden Glove Winner

Thibaut Courtois - List of all Golden Glove winners in The FIFA World Cup

Thibaut Courtois, who won the golden glove award in the FIFA world cup 2018, was born on May 11, 1992. He is a Belgian football goalkeeper who plays for the Spanish club Real Madrid as well as the Belgium national team. He first joined Chelsea in July 2011. In the following three seasons, he won the Europa League, the Copa del Rey, and the La Liga title in 2012, 2013, and 2014. Courtois made his senior international debut in October 2011. After that, he became Belgium’s youngest goalkeeper. Real Madrid signed him for £35 million in 2018, making him the most expensive goalkeeper in La Liga at the time. In 2020, he won a second La Liga title and a third Zamora trophy. Finally, in 2018, he won the Golden Glove award as the tournament’s best goalkeeper.

3. Manuel Neuer, 2014 Golden glove Award Winner

Manuel Neuer
Image Credit: Twitter

Manuel Neuer is a German football goalkeeper who also serves as captain of both the Bundesliga club Bayern Munich and the German national team. He is regarded as one of football’s most famous goalkeepers. Neuer’s playing style and speed have earned him the moniker “sweeper-keeper.” IFFHS named him the best goalkeeper from 2011 to 2020. Neuer began his career with Schalke 04. He won the DFB-Pokal and the DFL-Ligapokal. He joined Bayern Munich in 2011 and has won nine Bundesliga titles as well as two UEFA Champions Leagues in 2013 and 2020.

In 2014, Neuer finished third in the FIFA Ballon d’Or voting, trailing Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. He was named UEFA Goalkeeper of the Year and IFFHS World’s Best Goalkeeper five times. Neuer was named Germany’s best goalkeeper for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. During the group-stage matches, he only allowed one goal. Neuer won the FIFA World Cup in 2014. He was also given the Golden Glove award for being the tournament’s best goalkeeper.

4. Iker Casillas, 2010

Iker Casillas
Image Credit: Twitter

Iker Casillas is a retired Spanish footballer who played as a goalkeeper. Casillas has earned the nickname “Saint Iker” for his ability to make spectacular saves. He is well-known for his playing abilities, quick reactions, and exceptional goal-stopping ability. He began his career at Real Madrid, where he spent the majority of his time. He is one of the players who has played in over 1000 games. He also holds the record for the most clean sheets not only in the UEFA Champions League but also for the Spain national team.

He began his career with the Real Madrid youth team before joining the first team in 1999. He was also the youngest goalkeeper to play in the Champions League final. He was once again Real Madrid’s first-choice goalkeeper. In his first three seasons, he established himself as one of the best goalkeepers in the world, winning two Champions League and two La Liga titles.

5. Gianluigi Buffon, 2006

Gianluigi Buffon Is One Of The Golden Glove Award Winners
Image Credit: Twitter

One of the best goalkeepers of all time is Gianluigi Buffon, who is highly recognized. He is one of the very few players with over 1,100 professional appearances. In 1995, Buffon signed with Parma and made his Serie A debut. This marked the start of his professional club career. One of the most popular goalkeepers ever. He earned the Golden Glove as the competition’s best goalkeeper while serving as the starting goalie for the team that won the tournament in 2006.

6. Oliver Kahn, 2002

Oliver Kahn
Image Credit: Twitter

Oliver Kahn is a German football executive and a former goalkeeper who is regarded as one of the greatest goalkeepers of all time. On three occasions, he was named world goalkeeper of the year (1999, 2001, and 2002). In 1975, he made his debut for the Karlsruher SC Junior team. Following that, Kahn appeared in his first professional match. He joined Bayern Munich in 1994 and played until his retirement in 2008. He is also regarded as one of the greatest and most successful goalkeepers of all time.

7. Fabian Barthez, 1998

Fabian Barthez
Image Credit: Twitter

Fabien Barthez is a French racing driver and former professional football goalkeeper. He played club football in both France and England for Toulouse, Marseille, AS Monaco, Manchester United, and Nantes. He is not only a French racing driver but also a Golden Glove award-winning football goalkeeper. He also represented France at the FIFA World Cup in 1998 and the UEFA Euro 2000. He also appeared in the 2006 FIFA World Cup final before retiring from football.

8. Michel Preudhomme, 1994

Michel Preudhomme
Image Credit: Twitter

Michel Preud’homme is a retired Belgian footballer and manager who used to be a goalkeeper. During his professional career, he was regarded as one of the world’s best and most consistent goalkeepers; he was the first recipient of the Yashin Award as the best goalkeeper at the 1994 FIFA World Cup.

FAQs about World Cup Golden Glove Award Winners

Who won the most Golden Glove awards?

Greg Maddux won the most golden glove awards, with 18

What is the golden glove award?

The Golden Glove Award is given to the best goalkeeper at each FIFA World Cup finals and the award goes to the best goalkeeper who keeps the most clean sheets throughout the FIFA World Cup tournament.

Who won Golden Glove in FIFA 2022?

Emi Martinez won Golden Glove in FIFA 2022. Argentina goalkeeper Martinez scooped the Golden Glove for a best goalkeeper after saving a penalty from Kingsley Coman in the shoot-out.


We hope you enjoyed our article on the List Of Golden Glove Award Winners In the FIFA World Cup. The List Of Golden Glove Award Winners In the FIFA World Cup is based on the official Google.com results. This page’s content is subject to change at any time. Our website (sportsandathletes.network) makes no guarantees about the accuracy of the information.

Scroll to Top